ITV has confirmed that series 8 of Endeavour will broadcast this autumn, though no actual date is yet confirmed. Joseph Millson will be guest starring in one of the upcoming episodes.

Shaun Evans and Roger Allam reprise their roles as DS Endeavour Morse and DCI Fred Thursday for three new compelling cases written and created by Russell Lewis.

Filmed on location in Oxford the strong ensemble cast reunited with Shaun and Roger for the eighth series includes Anton Lesser (Game of Thrones) who returns as CS Reginald Bright, Sean Rigby (Gunpowder) as DS Jim Strange, James Bradshaw (Close to The Enemy) as Dr Max DeBryn, Abigail Thaw (I Want My Wife Back) as Dorothea Frazil, Caroline O’Neill (Last Tango In Halifax) as Win Thursday and Sara Vickers (Watchmen) as Joan Thursday.

Opening the series in 1971, a death threat to Oxford Wanderers’ star striker Jack Swift places Endeavour (Shaun Evans) and his team at the heart of the glitz and glamour of 1970s football, exposing the true cost of success and celebrity, and with it, a deep- rooted division that is soon reflected much closer to home.

Other actors appearing in the new three films include John Hollingworth (The Queen’s Gambit), Joseph Millson (The Last Kingdom), Elliot Levy (Quiz), Julian Moore-Cook (Mission Impossible - Rogue Nation), Ruth Bradley (Humans), Fraser James (Terminator: Dark Fate), Wayne Cater (The Witcher), Oliver Johnstone (Inspector George Gently), Andrew Woodall (Des) and Andrea Lowe (Agatha Raisin).